top of page
Search

It's A Brand New Day . . .


All of today's plans were swept away. Okay, not all, but most of them. I started the morning with the fantastic honor of being inducted into Sigma Theta Tau, a nurse's Honor Society. The international group of nurses in this society spans the world, and the best and the brightest gather in this group ready to make the world a better place. Induction into Sigma meant even more to me since my daughter, who is currently attending the University of Southern Mississippi's Bachelors of Nursing program, was also inducted this week. Moments after the Zoom-facilitated ceremony, which my husband attended with me, we heard the CNN announcement. Joe Biden and Kamala Harris were declared the winners of the U.S. President and Vice-President election! While talking to my dear friend Carson, who lives in Montana, I quickly booked a hotel room at the Marriott in Crystal City. Literally seconds after my confirmation and trying to book another room for a friend, the rooms I tried to reserve were booked full. Meanwhile, people took to the streets in celebration, and all of my friends called or texted with me--everyone overwhelmed with joy and relief. The past four years under our current President--especially as a woman, healthcare provider, author, and American--made me feel as if the Dark Ages had descended on my life like a dirty, smothering blanket I could never remove. Last year it was hard to go to Italy on a cycling trip with my husband and look into the eyes of the people in our group who hailed from European countries, Australia and South America. When I did, I saw such a range of emotions there. Pity was the most dominant, followed by distrust and shades of anger. Once our tour companions realized that we were embarrassed by our very own President and the current state of our Union, the distrust and anger faded away, but the pity stayed. Watching the people dancing in the streets, in cities all over the U.S., was so mesmerizing that I could not pull myself away from the television no matter how hard I tried. I did manage to bring some apples into the living room and peel them while watching the people celebrate, then I finally mixed up an apple crumble--the first dessert I've made from scratch in a very long time--and placed it into the oven. And right now, I sit here waiting for President-Elect Joe Biden and Vice-President-Elect Kamala Harris to make their victory speeches. The hope of a brand new tomorrow--a brand new age--is rising in my chest. And that dirty, smothering blanket that weighed me down and sullied my world is falling away. The air is clearing, and finally, I feel like I can breathe. Finally, I feel like our country is on the correct course. The sun will rise tomorrow, and when it does, I'll be refreshed, prepared to heal, and ready to start a brand new day!

17 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page